Anglian Home Improvements - Very Poor Service

Business review: 

I have never written on any forum before, but my experience with Anglian has totally frustrated me.

I decided to use Anglian Home improvements for replacement of my windows on my 4 bedroom detached house. I also had a replacement 3 replacement doors and a sliding conservatory door, so this is quite a nice sized order.

My experience started back on Friday 10th May 2013 when I had a sales advisors visit my property. He returned on Saturday 11th May 2013 where I signed off the order. This process took over 4 hours and had to go through the whole whole price negotiation circus, where the sales agent rang up his boss around 4 times.

The following week I was contacted by Anglian to be informed that not all the paperwork was presented to me for signature and that my order was not  placed.  I found this extremely disappointing given the length of time that I had the sales advisor at my property in the recent couple of days. After finally completing the paperwork to place my order I had the surveyor visit my property on Friday 21st June. I was advised that I would be emailed the drawings of my windows by Tuesday 25th June 2013.

Hasten to add, I never received this information and chased the surveyor up who informed me that I would receive this next day.  Still nothing was received and I was then informed that the scanner had broken down and these would definitely be with me by Friday 28th June 2013. I finally received these drawings towards the end of July.

The installation finally happened at the start of August. I have to say the installation team were very good. They had completed the job in 2 days (instead of the quoted 4 days that I have been given) and I was pleased with there work. On completion of the installation, I did not sign off on the documents as i wanted to see one of the senior managers in person to discuss my what I class as a very poor customer service which has resulted in me continually chasing the company.

The area manager visited my property not long after the installation (fields installation manager) and there was remedial works that were required (replace one window sill and one door due to a defect). I was advised this would happen promptly (within a week) and that there would be a goodwill payment to compensate me for the poor experience and the very short installation time (2 days instead of 4).

3 weeks later and yet again, I had not had any communication from Anglia. I had no response from the area manager, and had contacted the customer service team. I was finally contacted by a field manager on 4th September at 4:45pm who wanted to do the rememdial works the morning of the 5th September. I was very flexible in cancelling some business arrangements as I wanted to get the work on my home completed and the field manager agreed that i would get my goodwill payment within 10 working days.

The remedial works were completed on the 5th September and as of today (24th September) I have not received the gesture payment.

I have been totally frustrated by the whole experience with Anglian. The customer service is incredibly poor. The statement on the website says "we truly care about your satisfaction" which I think is completely mis-leading, and it would be more appropriate to write "we do not  give a ****.

Business location: 
Business category: 

There are 43 Comments

Hi everyone. .. my name is megan and worked at anglian home improvements as from 2 days ago with my friends.
I would like to warn everyone not to work at that place!! Gary peacock which was my manager at the ipswich base was reported for sexual harassment by me and my friend that will remain nameless.
He was saying to other workers that if I was in the office on my own and if I was horny, would they fuck me. The workers (who also remain nameless) said no because who even asks that!
He then laughed and said he would fuck me... by the way guys I am 17 years old!!
He also was making remarks about my mates boobs, saying how big they are she would act all slutty around him and bend over in front of him and over his desk for his pleasure. My friend is also 17! Gary peacock is nearly 50 and he is saying disgusting sexual things about us. The people he said the stuff to is my mates boyfriend and his friend... they were not happy and obviously told us straight away and want to kill him! My parents are disgusted that someone could do that and dissapointed about the company aswell.

By the way he also fired us a day before we found out this stuff because we had to go to a college taster day and he was messaging us saying how unreliable we are not going in and saying we useless! We told him we couldn't go in that day... so we are waiting for a meeting to get this pervert sorted out.
Until then I will not keep my mouth shut unless he is sacked!

Don't work there guys.

Hi,

I am very shocked to hear this and I think our HR department need to look into this urgently. Please can you drop them an email - payhrhelpdesk@angliangroup.com

Please notify them of everything you have said here (maybe send them a link to this review site).

Many thanks

Louie (Customer Care Dept.)

I'm fuming. I ordered an Anglian Hardwood Conservatory before the summer; all went well with planning, got the base built by our own builder and signed off by Anglian, then total silence. I have phoned and e-mailed more times than I care to remember - at least on a daily basis over the last 2 weeks.They have apparently had an internal re-organisation (?) which means I have now been waiting more than 2 MONTHS for an installation date and was told today it could take a further 10 -12 weeks but they have absolutely no idea and cannot give me a date. When it's in stock they will call me!!!!! I'm not holding my breath.
The national customer complaints system is useless - they just log the complaint and refer it back to the 'local team'. Say they'll get back to you and don't. I keep going round in circles.
Absolutely unacceptable disgraceful service - wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Hi, I am very sorry to hear of this experience and would like to help. I have replied to your other reviews requesting your address and postcode so I can take a look into this and try to get it resolved.

Our email address is customer.services@angliangroup.com

Many thanks

Chirrelle (Customer Care Dept.)

I fully support the appalling comments made about Anglian. We had an £810000 conservatory built so a major project.
We were promised a project manager who never turned up so I ended up doing this job. The salesman promised to come back and explain payments but never did. The project manager turned up 30 minutes after the plasters left wanting his money. Real bullyboy tactics.
Forced in the end to sign a satisfaction paper to release the money with no idea of the total cost.
Also poor information given has resulted in costing us thousands more in order to more sort out problems with access to the garden.
We decided to use a recognised company in order to make our lives easier...far from it, they have been a nightmare. Please save yourself from making the mistake we did.

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear this. This is not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please can you email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or contract number and reference this review, as I would like to help you.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

Do not ever allow Anglian to do any work at your home. We ordered a conservatory with them in September 2014 for installation the following August. They came and did the first survey for building control in January and got the dimensions wrong. So wrong that the conservatory would not have fitted within the space available. We then heard nothing from them until I called the office 3 weeks before start date chasing them for the final survey and their reply was that they had no knowledge of our order. They sent a man round the next day to measure again, only to get it wrong again. I explained to him that we had taken time off work for the build which was due to start on Monday 24th August 2015 (in 3 weeks time) and that it had to be done within that time period, as agreed. I checked with the office again on the Thursday before the start date and they said everything was in place to start. NO-ONE TURNED UP ON MONDAY. NO PHONE CALL. NO APOLGY. We then cancelled the order after losing all faith in Anglian.

They then proceeded to take us to court for cancelling. This cost us £6945 for them to NOT to turn up and build a conservatory.

Anglian are, at best, scam merchants who have no idea of customer service, management of jobs, or business ethics.

My advice to anyone who is reading this, do not under any circumstances allow Anglian into your home and never enter into any form of contract with them.

I had a conservatory installed by Anglian in October last year and had continual problems due to the lack of communication between departments and them not following the surveyor's instructions. I agree with the comments of others who have experienced similar service from Anglian. Their sales people are fine and helpful but when the work starts things fall apart. I will not be using them again. I have had to take time off work to get issues resolved and was offered a paltry £200 compensation compared with the money they have had off me. I had though Anglian were a company who cared about their reputation but obviously not.

Hi,
I'm very sorry to hear this. This is not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please can you email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or contract number and reference this review, as I would like to help you.
Sincere apologies,
Lee (Customer Care Dept)

I ordered anglian patio doors and kitchen window. The job was hastly done the day before went into hospital. It was a shody job as the plastering around the doors immediately gave way and the locks failed to work properly. The lock also on the kitchen window eventually failed. This I complained about. September 2015 anglian manager promised to replace the patio doors . January 2016 the job still was not done. On complaining to anglian they had no recognition of the jobs. May 2016 anglian again this time sent an engineer who promised to make sure the work was done. July 2016 I am still struggling and I am still very disatisfied with the work, service and customer support. Never will I use Anglian again

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear this. This is not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please can you email customer.services@angliangroup.com referencing this review and provide me with your full address, as I would like to get this issue resolved.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

I had a sunroom/Damproom installed by Anglian in sept 2013 from the outset there was going to be problems not installed correctly the build ground work poor at best after 30 visits from Anglian I still have the same problems and this is nearly 3 years down the line the customer service is well below poor this is a shabby and shamefull company with no moral compass.

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear this. This is not the standard of service we expect to provide. I would like to help get these issues resolved. In order to help please can you email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or contract number.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

What a bunch of jokers. Windows fitted, one was ordered as frosted glass (for a bathroom) but turned up clear. After being assured the replacement was being ordered numerous times, still nothing and no contact - we are having to chase everything. But they did manage to get the finance agreement started - as far as I'm concerned the job is not complete! Not to mention the mess left by the installers. Anglian must think their customers are idiots, and will forget they haven't done the work agreed. Not to worry, they will regret trying it with me. In summary, avoid the plague - in Southampton anyway.

I have had a very similar problem. Thankfully I didn't take out finance, but even without payment they are in no rush to sort things out! Unfortunately, I think what you have experienced is exactly the 'standard of service (Anglian) expect to provide'. If it wasn't there wouldn't be so many of us having the same issues.

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear this. This is not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please can you email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address and reference this review and we will be happy to help.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

I have to agree with everyone else here. Please, please do not use this company!

After moving into my first home I decided to invest in a new door. Anglian were more pricey than other companies but I liked the design and trusted them. This didn't last - they failed to keep several appointments, the installers failed to turn up at the agreed installation date, when the door was eventually fitted it was not to contract and the installers caused damage around the area they were working. When I checked the door and found it was not as ordered (wrong colour) they insisted on taking payment, getting steadily more aggressive. They called the installation manager who also tried to insist on immediate payment. I refused to pay until the problem was resolved - I'm glad I did!

This was months ago - since then I've tried to find a resolution but my emails and letters are ignored and the 'customer services' phone line seems mainly designed to get you to 'go away' then to actually help.

The installation manager has been rude and antagonistic, he seems to be at the centre of all of the problems and has caused me significant stress and acted in a an unprofessional manner. My complaints were originally made to the him and were not logged on my account - something which I fear has probably happened to others. Strangely, once I'd made it clear that my complaint involves him, I am constantly told he is the only person I can deal with. Surely a conflict of interest?

After everything I have been through with Anglian I am no longer prepared to let them back on my property. I proposed that I will accept the current door, which was fitted late and not to contract if they provide a discount in acknowledgement of the multitude of errors and poor service. This is the most logical solution which also saves Anglian the cost of a new refit and prevents any further stress to myself or damage to my property.

I simply cannot understand why they don't want to settle this manner and have chosen to either aggressively pursue the route of a refit (telling me this is the only possible solution - despite this being the least logical solution), or to ignore all correspondence and communication from myself entirely. This could have been resolved weeks, even months ago.

The behaviour throughout this entire process has been substandard. They have not honoured the contract I had with them. As a company they have made countless errors which could have been easily avoided. I'm at such a loss over this, I feel completely defeated. I have spent much of the last couple of months feeling anxious and worried about this.

I think many of their staff are in the same boat - one person on the customer service line said to me 'Don't let us win'. What a sorry state of affairs.

Please save yourself the trouble and avoid using Anglian!

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear you're unhappy with your new door and the service we've provided. Please email customer.services@angliangroup.com and we will be happy to help.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

I have made a formal complaint to Anglian customer services today. We had new doors and windows fitted in November. Fitter damaged doorframe so we needed a new frame, and cat flap fitted as forgotten! They left us with gaping hole all along window ledge which blows icy winds through. We live on top of the welsh mountains so you can imagine!
We have still not had it fixed, keep ringing and chasing but no joy.
Left messages for managers to ring, have asked customer service to get someone senior to ring but no one ever calls
Fitter has just arrived as arranged after multiple phone calls - he forgot to bring a cat flap and thought he had come to survey what was needed!
He did not know he was meant to change door frame, finish window and replace door!!
Had no green parts on van so unable to do anything. He can't believe how we have been left either!
I am so so annoyed!!

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear our fitter didn't have the correct parts on his visit. I understand your complaint has been received by our Customer Care team who will be in contact shortly.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

I am still waiting for the work to be done, yet again another fitter has turned up today but guess what, he hasn't got the right part! Still got gaping hole exposed to the elements (as left in November!)
So so angry, very annoyed with attitude of a certain field manager!! What does it take to get the job finished, and when will be compensated for this absolute nightmare?

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear the installer didn't have the correct equipment with him. I've informed the local branch who will be in contact shortly. In regards to the compensation, this will certainly be discussed with the local branch manager once all work is completed as ultimately we want you to be satisfied with your new products.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

Had acknowledgement from Anglian customer services 1 week ago afollowing formal complaint - but gues what, nothing else! So much for taking complaints seriously! Still awaiting call back from a manager from 10 days ago..........

I am disgusted by the level of service I received with my windows, i have been chasing managers who do not respond to my calls, and now I have been told they will not offer me warranty due to an error they have made. I would not recommend this company to amyone. I have made a formal complaint with them.

Another angry Anglican customer here....ordered replacement windows from Anglican in August 2016 and both my partner and I repeatedly pointed out to the salesman that we live in a Conservation Area and therefore planning permission with special conditions would be required with the local council....the salesman laughed and told us "It'll be fine, we'll have the windows installed by October 2016".

Nothing happened until late October 2016 when planning permission was lodged with the council and was refused in December 2016 as the window design did not conform with the Conservation Area rules - despite the fact that we repeatedly told the salesman in August 2016 that a certain window design had to be used.

In February 2017 a 2nd planning permission application with revised window design was lodged by Anglican with the council and the council's planning dept even contacted Anglican BEFOREHAND what was required in order to get the planning permission granted. However, Anglican did not listen to the council official's advice and had asked them to accept the revised design "as it is". As a result the 2nd planning permission was refused again in April 2017.

The final straw was when we contacted Anglican again for an update in May 2017 and was told that they had submitted revised design again to the council planning dept which had been accepted and that new windows would be made shortly. However we then got into touch with council ourselves to double-check (because at this point we have no faith in Anglican), the planning dept had advised us that they have not received any paperwork since April 2017 when the 2nd planning application was refused. This, in my eyes, is a major breach of contract as we have been lied to by Anglican!!!!! My council is notorious for refusing restropective planning permission in a Conservation Area, so fitting new windows without a planning consent in place could have huge repercussions for me as a householder.

My partner and I are now trying to get the order with Anglican cancelled due to their incompetence, the inability to follow Conservation Area regulations, poor service, lack of communication, our complaints not being taken seriously and ultimately being lied to about the planning permission being granted. They are now digging in their heels and using bullying tactics - "you would lose your deposit, you cannot cancel order etc".

Honestly to God I wished we never used Anglican as it has been nothing but a total nightmare and a lot of stress - not to mention 9 months has been wasted and no new windows. If anyone is thinking of using Anglican for new windows, do yourselves a favour and AVOID them at all costs!!!

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing with the planning permission. This is cerainly not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or order number and our Customer Care team will certainly investigate this further.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

Like many others we are angry with Anglian too. We had work done on 18th May 2017, they fitted a window upstairs and the finishing touches were poor. When the fitters were walking through the house with the glass for the downstairs window they dropped it, glass everywhere! So now we only have a single window fitted with broken glass all around the frame! We sent an email of complaint and phoned up customer service, but no answer.

It's been 2 weeks now and still no one has been sent out to inspect it. No apologies or anything! We have been with Anglian for 25 years and never had a problem until now. Very disappointed and annoyed, they have lost our custom after this.

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you've experienced during the installation. I understand your local branch contacted you last week to arrange an engineers visit but you wanted a manager to attend so they're currently arranging a managers visit and will be in contact shortly.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

Hi Ellis , the field manager phoned me last night and said he would come out today. He said he would ring before he arrives , still waiting. I stayed in all day, it is very frustrating and the service is really bad . The last time we had Anglian was about 3 years ago, they fitted 2 windows at our house, and we had no trouble. I'm getting really fed up with it all now!

Wow - I thought I was the only one experiencing extremely poor level of service from Anglian - clearly not!!
Iv made 2 complaints to customer services and CUSTOMER SERVICES DIDNT EVEN BOTHER TO RESPOND! What does that say about Anglian overall! I have had to write a 3rd complaint and guess what its to customer services again as there is no other email you can write to. Lets hope this time they actually respond. I am extremely disappointed, frustrated & angry that such a massive company like Anglian can install a premium product so badly and then give you the worst level of aftercare service! DO NOT GO WITH ANGLIAN to get your windows replaced! I was advised not to go with Anglian but thought they cant be that bad and would prefer to go with a big company like them than a small family business who could go bust later on. But think I made the wrong decision. I will be passing my story to everyone and anyone who listens. VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER.

Dear Mrs Long,
Please accept my apologies for the levels of service provided to you thus far.

I believe that a member of our Customer Care Team responded to you via email on Monday 17 July 2017 concerning the complaint which has been registered on our system.

From assessing our records I believe that further discussions have taken place concerning some replacements sealed units due to imperfections within the glass.

Please once again accept my sincere apologies for your experience with us thus far.

Yours sincerely,

Lee Waller
Customer Support

I can only agree with Nicola's sentiments above. We have tried to get Anglian to come out and rectify some minor issues following a disastrous installation that resulted in damage, delay and terrible levels of service. We were eventually compensated but a few months later we started getting snags in relation to the installation and contacted Anglian to get them rectified.We heard nothing and after more prompting by Email, a letter arrived with a date and time (between 8am and 5pm) for someone to attend. No one turned up and not even a phone call to apologise. More Emails were sent and another letter arrived with an appointment that was totally unsuitable. More Emails were sent and a response came nominating an AM call today. I emailed and phoned Customer Services where I spoke to Karen to confirm the appointment. No one showed up and no phone call or apology forthcoming. The local installation manager is ineffectual, 'Abbey' and 'Karen' in Customer Services are not reliable and the whole organisation is in a mess. If your complaint involves Customer Services (and it appears that a growing number on here do) then what is the remedy? This afternoon I Emailed the Chief Executive but the Email was returned. I copied in to Customer Services as I haven't gone behind anyone's back. I have tried to find the name of the Head of Customer Services but this does not appear to be available on 'open source'. I will be speaking to my solicitor in the morning as to the best way to secure some progress but I am minded to contact the Trade Association before 'going public' and I will draw their attention to this and other sites critical of Anglian. It seems that their whole senior management team are in denial that they are a failing business- if not financially, then certainly in terms of customer service. Their reputation will begin to suffer and this, and its financial implications are the only things that will force change. I suggest that everyone contacts the trade association and local MP in order to get them to treat our legitimate complaints with the seriousness they deserve.

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing with the planning permission. This is certainly not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or order number and our Customer Care team will certainly investigate this further and ensure a full response is provided to you.

Sincere apologies,

Lee
Customer Support

Hi, everyone. We are in a similar situation to you all. Anglian Windows Customer service is terrible. Appointments are never kept. Installation never happen at the promised dates. Managers never turn up. They make up stuff to cover up their faults. I am totally frustrated with their service. It all started in October 2016 and we are still trying to resolve issues and it is now August 2017!!

Hi, everyone. We are in a similar situation to you all. Anglian Windows Customer service is terrible. Appointments are never kept. Installation never happen at the promised dates. Managers never turn up. They make up stuff to cover up their faults. I am totally frustrated with their service. It all started in October 2016 and we are still trying to resolve issues and it is now August 2017!!

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service we provided. This is certainly not the standard we expect provide. Please email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or order number and we will certainly investigate this further.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

I wish I had read this forum before! I am currently in a similar debacle with Anglian and just the most appalling service, I wish I had gone with another company but it's far too late and for the amount of money with the complete lack of service and professionalism I have to encourage anyone else to do your home work and where possible use another company. Anglian are very difficult to work with with no-one taking responsibility.

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service we've provided. This is certainly not the standard of service we expect to provide. Please email customer.services@angliangroup.com with your full address or order number and we will certainly investigate this further.

Sincere apologies,

Ellis (Customer Care Dept)

Yep it's under investigation but still hasn't changed anything hence how appalling whole experience is as this clearly doesn't mean a lot.

Similar complaints by all customers (apart from the staff complaint) so thanks for the heads up & the comments. I had a couple firms including Anglian booked in this week for sales advisors to look over job but will now gladly cancel Anglian on basis of these comments. Can literally hear the frustration on one side and a kind of helpless sorry on the other. Will use firms with good online reputations.

Anglian windows contractors broke into my garden and erected scaffolding to carry out work to an upstairs flat. I wasnt asked permission if they could come into my property to do this. I wasnt even told that work was going to be carried out. I complained to anglian windows and was threatened with court action if i didnt allow the work to go ahead. Scaffolding was then erected in my front garden so windows could be put in in the flat above. I was left with no sky as the scaffolding was blocking the signal. If i was informed that this was happening anglian windows would have been told not to put up scaffolding as i was having building work done to the outside wall because of serious damp issues. I also had to cancel my Birthday BBQ because the scaffolding had blocked in my BBQ plus i felt it unsafe as i had small children attending. After the windows were put in i found that they had just left a mess, broken glass and brick laying every where. The scaffolding that was placed in the front has completely flattened my herb garden and again a large mess left. 5 weeks later and scaffolding is still in my back garden because there was an issue with one of the windows. Im now told by my builders they cannot carry out the urgent work i need to have done because its now too cold and i have to wait until next year. This means i cannot use my bedroom. Im having to sleep in my living room. I am disabled and also suffer with chronic asthma. Im now having to eat, sleep and shit in the same room as i have to use a commode. I can no longer have a night carer because there is no where for them to stay. Ive complained time and timecagain only to be told its with their legal department. This company are just after your money. They dont care whose life they ruin. I am now going to make this very public. They shouldnt be allowed to treat people like they have and get away with it. Take heed people. STAY AWAY FROM ANGLIAN HOME IMPROVEMENTS. Its safe to say they havnt changed or improved their servise since this company started. If i had the money i would sue them for what they have done plus this has cause my condition to worsen. Disgusting people!

Add new comment

Suspicious review?

Is this review about your business?

Is it or false or misleading?

We take false content extremely seriously. 

Click here to learn more.

Popular reviews today

I have never written on any forum before, but my experience with Anglian has...
Read this review.
Wholly unprofessional. I lost a days pay waiting for an Able gas engineer to...
Read this review.
This business is foul .Sent me dilapidated part all rusty & broken...
Read this review.
Unbelievable... Not so long ago, I set about renewing a policy which had lapsed...
Read this review.
Harvey Copping & Harrison, based in Wickford, South Woodham and Canvey...
Read this review.
I ordered several producrts from Anglian Home Improvements in June 2014 and...
Read this review.